Prof Robert Pelton to receive PAPTAC’s Gold Medal

Event News

The PAPTAC National Awards will be taking centre stage at the PaperWeek Awards Business Luncheon, on Thursday February 6th at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel. Please join us in celebrating this year’s award winners!

pwc2020 27jan20 2Robert Pelton, Professor of Chemical Engineering & Director, McMaster Centre for Pulp and Paper Research, will be presented the John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal, PAPTAC's highest individual honour, awarded to a member of the Association in recognition of their great contribution to the science and technology of the pulp and paper industry.

A Certificate of Appreciation will be presented to Suzanne Smith, Process Engineer at AV Group NB, for her services to PAPTAC, particularly her long standing involvement with the Atlantic Branch, and to the Canadian pulp and paper industry.

Certificate of Appreciation will be presented to François Héon, for his exceptional service to PAPTAC, the Canadian pulp and paper industry, and specifically to the Eastern Canadian Black Liquor Recovery Boiler Advisory Committee (ECBLRBAC).

The F.G. Robinson Award honouring the Chair of a PAPTAC Committee who, in the opinion of the Executive Council, has contributed the most towards the furtherance of the aims and objectives of the Association and who has shown outstanding leadership and service to his or her committee, will be presented to Brian Labrash, Versoco, for his term as Chair of the Bleaching Committee.

The Howard Rapson Memorial Award for best chemical pulp bleaching paper will be presented to John Gillespie - JD Irving, Leslie Adams, IPP and Marcius De Oliveira - Capstone for their paper entitled “Advanced Control Solution for BP - Challenges & Benefits”.

The Jasper Mardon Award for best papermaking paper will be presented to Stéphanie Morin - Domtar for her presentation “Thinking Outside of the Headbox when Troubleshooting the Paper Machine”.

Visit for details on program and registration

Source: PAPTAC