Home PAPTAC 2018 PWC/BIOFOR Coverage Networking and PAPTAC Awards at the Welcoming Reception

Networking and PAPTAC Awards at the Welcoming Reception

The welcoming reception was held at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Monday February 5th, to kick off the joint 2018 Paperweek Canada and BIOFOR conferences. It was a great opportunity to network with new and old colleagues, and celebrate those who were recognized for their work and industry contribution.

David McDonald has received Honorary Life Membership for his extraordinary dedication to the Association. David McDonald is President of JDMcD Consulting Inc., and Adjunct Professor, Chemical Engineering at McMaster University.

Eric Ashby, David McDonald, and Greg Hay

This year's PACTAC Fellowship Award was bestowed upon Joe R. H. Zhao from Tri-Y Environmental Research Institute, in recognition of his long-term and significant contribution to the Association and the pulp and paper industry.

Eric Ashby, Joe R. H. Zhao, and Greg Hay

The Howard Rapson Memorial Award for best chemical pulp bleaching paper was presented to Rick Wasson, Lake Utopia Paper - JD Irving, Limited for his paper entitled, "Summary of Best Training Practices For Generator Safety Systems".

Eric Ashby, Rick Wasson, and Greg Hay

The Jasper Mardon Award for Best Papermaking paper was granted to Javad Saberian from FPInnovations for « Améliorer l'efficacité de la machine à papier en réduisant les variabilités au bout humide ».

Eric Ashby, Javad Saberian, and Greg Hay

The Douglas Jones Environmental Award is conferred for the best paper in the field of environment improvement. The winners were Talat Mahmood and Allan Elliott from FPInnovations, for their paper, "Novel Approach to Recover Products from Ash".

Eric Ashby, Allan Elliott, Talat Mahmood, and Greg Hay

The Certificate of Appreciation was presented to Daniel Liard to recognise his exceptional services to PAPTAC and the Canadian pulp and paper industry.

Daniel Liard





Precision Roll Grinders

buckman banner